Congress issues whip for Aug 10 sitting

IMPHAL, 4th Aug: To ensure that all its MLAs adhere to party discipline during assembly session scheduled for August 10, Congress party has issued whip under the Tenth Schedule of Indian Constitution.
Congress party’s chief whip Govindas Konthoujam issued a notice in this regard on July 27 and warned of taking strict disciplinary action against those who fail to uphold party discipline.
The three-line whip notice issued by Govindas Konthoujam said that all the members of the party must be in the House from 11am of August 10 till the end of the session and take part in discussion and voting as per directive of Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee.
While mentioning that all the members should go in line while voting as per decision taken by Congress Legislature Party leader O Ibobi Singh, the notice also said that disciplinary action (disqualification) will be initiated under Para 2(1) of the Tenth Schedule of Indian Constitution if any member of the party violates directive and skips voting.
With the issuance of the three-line whip, Congress party has made preparation for submitting names of party members along with photos to assembly secretariat and the same may be done on Wednesday.
The party members are O Ibobi Singh of Thoubal AC, Gaikhangam of Nungba AC, TN Haokip of Saikot AC, Thokchom Lokeshwar of Khundrakpam AC, Khumukcham Joykisan of Thangmeiband AC, RK Imo of Sagolband AC, Okram Henry of Wangkhei AC, Akoijam Mirabai of Patsoi AC, Oinam Lukhoi of Wangoi AC, Nameirakpam Loken of Nambol AC, Govindas Konthoujam of Bishnupur AC, Md Abdul Nasir of Lilong AC, Keisham Meghachandra of Wangkhem AC, Paonam Brojen of Wangjing-Tentha AC, Surjakumar Okram of Khangabok AC, Md Fajur Rahim of Wabagai AC, Kangujam Ranjit of Sugnu AC, D Korungthang of Tengnoupal AC, Alfred Kangam Arthur of Ukhrul AC, Yamthong Haokip of Saikul AC, DD Thaisii of Karong AC, Ngamthang Haokip of Saitu AC, Dr Chaltonlian Amo of Tipaimukh AC and Ginsuanhao of Singhat AC.
Mention may be made here that Congress had moved a ‘no confidence’ motion against the BJP led coalition government headed by N Biren Singh.

© 2016 - 2020 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.