CS told to examine plea for increasing MP slot

IMPHAL, 16th Dec:

Chief minister N Biren has instructed chief secretary to look into the proposal made by one Naorem Priyokumar during the “Meeyamgi Numit” on Friday in connection with increasing the number of MPs from the state. Naorem Priyokumar from Kakching on Friday urged the chief minister to look into the issue of increasing the number of MPs from Manipur. In this regard, chief minister N Biren reportedly instructed the chief secretary to take up necessary measures.

During the “Meeyamgi Numit” on Friday, Priyokumar submitted a written complaint/suggestion to the chief minister. In his application, Priyokumar enumerated that like other states of India, Manipur sent its members to the Parliament. At present, Manipur has slot for 3 Members of Parliament. L Jugeshwar was the first MP from inner Manipur constituency in 1952-52 while Rishang Keishing was the MP from outer Manipur constituency. In 1954, Ng Tompok was elected as the first Rajya Sabha MP.

After Manipur attained statehood, Lilong, Thoubal and Wangkhem assembly constituencies were removed from inner Manipur assembly constituency and included in outer Manipur assembly constituency. Since, the seat for outer Manipur constituency is reserved for Scheduled Tribe, none from the valley could contest as candidate in the outer Manipur MP election. A person from the valley which is included in the outer Manipur assembly constituency cannot contest election but cast his/her vote. Therefore, it is evident that 50% of the rights of the valley people in outer Manipur assembly constituency have been deprived. Thus, there is the need to increase the number of MPs or include all the constituencies of the valley in the inner Manipur assembly constituency, it said.

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.