Many BJP MLAs skip legislature wing meet

IMPHAL, 14th Jul: As majority of party’s MLAs were conspicuously absent in a legislature wing meet convened Tuesday, it seems that the rift within the ruling BJP persists and movement for change of leadership since the past many months lingers on.
Notably, BJP MLAs who are opposed to chief minister N Biren Singh launched a movement for change of leadership and even camped in the national capital few months back. The movement seems still alive given the thin attendance during the BJP legislature wing meet held Tuesday morning at CM secretariat. The meeting was called by BJP Manipur Pradesh president professor S Tikendra.
Chief minister N Biren Singh, Lok Sabha MP Dr RK Ranjan, deputy speaker and Mayang Imphal MLA K Robindro, Yaiskul MLA Th Satyabrata, Konthoujam MLA Dr Sapam Ranjan, Sekmai MLA H Dingo and Lamsang MLA S Rajen attended the meet convened from 9 am. Details of agenda discussed in the meeting could not be immediately ascertained but a source informed that the meeting will resume at BJP Manipur Pradesh office at Nityaipat Chuthek from 1pm Wednesday as majority of the MLAs could not attend Tuesday’s meet.
Meanwhile, chief minister N Biren Singh said that the legislature wing meet was called to discuss about organising a felicitation function in honour of titular king Sanajaoba Leishemba who has been elected as member of Rajya Sabha on BJP ticket. The chief minister said this during distribution of subsidy amount to beneficiaries of start-up programme sponsored by state planning department at CM secretariat later during the day.
The source further said that some MLAs intentionally skipped the legislature meet called by BJP state unit president thereby exposing continuance of the movement for change of leadership in public domain. Interestingly, BJP ministers namely works minister Th Biswajit, education minister Th Radheshyam, social welfare minister Nemcha Kipgen and agriculture minister V Hangkhanlian convened a separate meet at party’s temporary office at Canchipur along with some MLAs.
The meet was attended by Kshetrigao MLA Nahakpam Indrajit, Keirao MLA Th Rameswar and Hiyanglam MLA Dr Radheshyam, the source informed, adding that CM Biren’s encouragement of MLAs who defected from Congress instead of party’s own has caused anger among BJP MLAs and some MLAs who had long been loyal to CM are also disheartened and likely to distance themselves from CM. The source, however, informed that some MLAs skipped the meet as it was held at CM bungalow and they would attend Wednesday’s meet to be held at party office.

© 2016 - 2020 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.