NPP studies political situation sans MLAs

IMPHAL, 26th Jun: National People’s Party (NPP) state unit convened its executive committee meet Friday and discussed present political situation of the state without party’s four MLAs who re-joined the BJP-led coalition government.
The executive committee meet at party’s Sangaiprou office chaired by state president Thangminlien Kipgen was held without MLAs L Jayantakumar, Letpao Haokip, N Kayisii and Y Joykumar as they have quarantined themselves at their respective homes after returning from Delhi.
After the meet, Thangminlien told media persons that politics is a game of number and power. Party’s four MLAs resigned from the government and extended support to Congress recently but the party decided to dissociate from Congress and rejoin the government upon realising that Congress party’s effort to form government would not be successful, he said adding that the executive committee resolved to extend support to whatever decision the four MLAs take. He also said that party’s workers have been informed to support the decision of the MLAs.
Regarding NPP’s demand of replacement of chief minister, Thangminlien said change of leadership of BJP lies at hands of their central leaders and NPP will have to see steps of BJP national leaders for few more time.
Thangminlien also clarified that NEDA convenor Himanta Biswa Sharma and NPP president Conrad Sangma did not take the four MLAs to Delhi but they went to meet BJP national president JP Nadda and Home minister Amit Shah to air their grievances.
He also said portfolios of four NPP ministers will be decided by BJP national leaders and not by state government.

© 2016 - 2020 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.