‘NPP to continue support to BJP’

IMPHAL, 24th Jun: NEDA convener and Assam health minister Himanta Biswa Sarma announced that the four NPP MLAs, who recently walked out of the BJP led coalition government, have agreed to continue their support to the BJP government in the state.
The BJP trouble-shooter for Northeast region posted on Twitter that an NPP delegation led by national president & Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma and Y Joykumar met union home minister Amit Shah and BJP national president JP Nadda in New Delhi. NPP will continue to work together for the development of Manipur and support BJP in the state, he stated.
Mention may be made that the four NPP MLAs were taken away by NEDA convener & Assam health minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and NPP national president & Meghalaya chief minister Conrad Sangma in a chartered flight on Tuesday after they could not convince them to return to the BJP led government.
It is speculated that the central leadership of BJP assured to sort out the issues concerning the NPP MLAs which led to defusing the tension.
This development comes a week after the 4 NPP MLAs - Y Joykumar Singh (Deputy CM), N Kayisii, L Jayantakumar, and Letpao Haokip resigned as ministers and extended support to the opposition Congress party.
On Tuesday, Sangma and Sarma had rushed to Manipur for resolving the grievances of the NPP MLAs. Previously, the Meghalaya CM had himself admitted that there was friction between the NPP MLAs and Manipur CM N Biren.

© 2016 - 2020 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.