MTFC Leimakhong produced a clinical display of attacking football to overpower UPSA 5-1, while NEROCA FC beat MPSC on penalties on the second day of the 8th Shaheed Manoranjan Singh Memorial CRPF State Football Tournament at Artificial Turf Ground on Tuesday.

MTFC went into action mode from the word go but were held by UPSA for almost 30 minutes until the former broke the opposition’s resistance in the 26th minute.

It was Premchand who opened the scoring and Achon doubled the advantage just before the half-time whistle.

After the restart, MTFC continued their offensive, this time with greater intent, that yielded three goals.

Reingam led the second-half assault with a double. He made it 3-0 in the 85th minute and further stretched their lead to 4-0 with his second goal in the 73rd minute.

Mataimi then rounded off the scoring in the 77th minute as Mangkemba scored a consolation goal for UPSA in the 80th minute.

Later, NEROCA FC forced a 1-1 draw and then snatched a 3-1 penalty win over MPSC.

A stoppage-time goal by N Robert gave NEROCA a lifeline after MPSC led through the entire 90 minutes of contest with a first-half goal from Ksh Kanta.

MPSC, however, faltered in the shootout with only one conversion courtesy of Priyokumar.

Three successful shots by takers Abungo, Joykisan and N Robert were what NEROCA needed to have the final say.

Wednesday’s fixtures will see NC Club against SAI Utlou and KPSC Kakching against AIM Imphal East.

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.