HC issues contempt notices to six

IMPHAL, 16th Jun: A division bench of Gauhati High Court Imphal (now Manipur High Court) issued notices for contempt to six persons over failure to abide by the Court's judgement in writ petition (PIL) 16-2007.
The contempt notices were issued to Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi cabinet secretary Rajiv Gauba; registrar general and census commissioner, Headquarters Dr Vivek Joshi; director Census Operation and chief principal census officer, Manipur M Yaiskul Meitei; chief election commissioner and ex-officio member of Delimitation Commission Sunil Arora; chief secretary, Manipur Dr J Suresh Babu and Election Commission of India (ECI) secretary Varinder Kumar. In 2003, a huge issue swept the state over irregularities in the population numbers of 9 sub-divisions of three hill districts, namely Senapati, Ukhrul and Chandel (now separated under Kangpokpi, Tengnoupal and Kamjong) in the 2001 census report. No reasonable explanation was provided on why there was a sudden increase of population in the 2001 census. On January 19, 2007, after a detailed deliberation, the division bench ordered to re-conduct the census for the 9 sub divisions of Senapati, Ukhrul and Chandel and republish the 2001 census report. It further instructed the delimitation commission not to carry out delimitation in the 9 sub-divisions under Section 8 and 9 of the Delimitation Act, 2002 based on the 2001 census report. However, the Court's orders were not followed even after 10 years had passed. The contempt petition was filed after the process for carrying out delimitation in Manipur based on the 2001 census report was initiated.

© 2016 - 2020 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.