Poknapham scribe Sonia awarded

IMPHAL, 30th Sep: Like in other parts of the state, the 123rd birth anniversary of Jananeta Hijam Irawat was celebrated by Irawat Celebration Committee (ICC) at Iboyaima Shumang Leela Shanglen, Palace Compound here on Monday during which senior reporter of Poknapham daily Sonia Sorensangbam was honoured with “Thiyam Meghachandra Journalist Award” in recognition of her influential reporting.
Prior to the celebration, a rally was taken out from Irawat Bhawan to Iboyaima Shumang Leela Shanglen where the participants paid floral tributes to a life size photo of Irawat as a mark of paying homage to the revolutionary leader.
Later on, awards were presented to nine individuals working in different fields. RK Ranendrajit was honoured with “Hijam Irawat Award” and senior reporter of Poknapham daily Sonia Sorensangbam with “Thiyam Meghachandra Journalist Award”. The awards carry a cash reward of Rs 20,000, a shawl and a citation each.
“Thokchom Achouba Integrity Award” was presented to United Committee Manipur (UCM) president Sunil Karam; “Hijam Achou Sinmi Award” to Oinam Munan Meetei; “Oja Nongthombam Iboton Teacher Award” to Ningthoujam Binoy; “Laishram Ram Singh Trade Union award” to All Manipur VDF Welfare Association; “Kangjarakpam Mani Driver Award” to Konthoujam Ngouba Meetei; “Progressive Farmer Award” to Langgoljam Kulla and “Dr Sulochana People Artiste (Comedian) Award” to Sougrakpham Hemanta. The awards carry a cash reward of Rs 10,000, a shawl and a citation each.
Member of Parliament and Communist Party of India (CPI) national secretary D Raja, who attended the event as chief guest, expressed displeasure at the BJP-led NDA government at the centre for hiding the contents of the Framework Agreement signed between NSCN (IM) and Government of India despite repeated demands made by the party to do so.
He acknowledged Hijam Irawat as a true communist leader born in the state, who always worked for protecting collective integrity of the state where different communities have been co-existing since immemorial and inclusion of Manipuri language in the Eighth Schedule of the Indian constitution. He said that CPI firmly stands against the proposed implementation of the Citizenship Amendment Bill in the north east because the Bill aims at wiping out indigenous people of the region by allowing illegal migrants from neighbouring countries to get Indian citizenship. Attending the function, ICC president Dr M Nara dwelled on the thought process and visions adopted by Hijam Irawat for consolidating integrity of the hills and valley, saying that the revolutionary leader always stood against discrimination and deprivation of human rights in the society.
He called upon the people including elected representatives to set aside their political and religious differences and instead follow the footsteps of Hijam Irawat for the betterment of the society where there is no discrimination and partiality. CPI Manipur State Council secretary L Sotinkumar; Controller Commission chairman Y Dhananjoy; secretariat members Langol Iboyaima; A Lala; RK Amusana, S Sorojini; assistant secretary Kh Surchand; ICC secretary M Joykumar Luwang; CPI veteran leaders M Kadambini and Th Bhanumati; Senior Citizens for Society general secretary L Sadananda; All Manipur Nupi Marup president M Sakhi and Manipur Loumi Lup president M Singhajit were also present as presidium members.
As part of the celebration function, a march past competition was held wherein 50 contingents participated. Prizes were distributed to the winners of the competition.

© 2016 - 2020 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.