JCILPS to enforce regulation for migrant influx

IMPHAL, 11th Sep: Joint Committee on Inner Line Permit System (JCILPS) has declared that regulation against rampant influx of migrants into Manipur which has posed a serious threat to the existence and identity of the indigenous people of the state will be enforced soon after consulting the public till President of the country gives assent to the Manipur People’s Bill.
The declaration was made by YK Dhiren who was elected as the convener of JCILPS which is spearheading the movement for implementing Inner Line Permit System in the state, during a ceremony held for the new elected office bearers of the committee at its office located along Tiddim Road here on Wednesday.
Speaking at the occasion, Dhiren said that JCILPS has been leading a mass movement for re-introducing Inner Line Permit System to protect the indigenous people of the state from the unchecked inflow of migrants whose population has increased at an alarming rate.
He mentioned that withholding assent to the Manipur People’s Bill which was passed unanimously by state Assembly in 2018 for long amounts to deprivation of rights of indigenous people of the state and as such the state government ought to act as vanguard and take up necessary steps to get assent of the President to the Bill at the earliest.
He also said that the onus lies on the government to update National Register of Citizens (NRC) and set up Manipur Population Commission by exercising political will to ensure protection of indigenous people of the state.
The newly elected JCILPS convener conveyed that the committee will conduct a mass campaign on the unceasing influx of migrants into the state to sensitise the public about the unresolved issue. Time has come for the government mainly the home department to take serious note of the unregulated entry of migrant workers who do not possess valid identification documents, otherwise the day would not be far when migrants would surpass the population of indigenous people, he observed. Dhiren also demanded the labour department to issue a public announcement on the required possession of identification documents by migrant workers under Interstate Migrant Workmen Act, 1979 at the earliest. The newly elected JCILPS members include Kh Chingkhei (co-convener); Laishram Shyam Khuman; Brojendro Naorem; Md Kheiruddin; Saha Moirangmayum and Haopu Kom.

© 2016 - 2020 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.