Bodybuilding: 21 claim top honours

CHRONICLE BUREAU IMPHAL, 27th July, 2017 : RK Roshan Singh, Nepram Roshan Singh and Shodhan Rai all muscled their way to men’s bodybuilding titles as 15 other events were also decided in the National Level Natural Bodybuilding & Fitness Championship 2017 being held at the auditorium of College of Agriculture, CAU, on Thursday.

RK Roshan won the men’s bodybuilding (short) contest with a total of 87 points, while L Ratan finished behind in second place and Ksh Angamba came in third. In the men’s bodybuilding (medium) event, Nepram outmuscled five competitors to clinch his title as Sanjib Das and Gunao Wangkhem secured second and third positions respectively. The men’s bodybuilding (tall) competition saw Shodhan Rai being the winner, with Deba in second place and Takhelambam Birjit Singh in third spot.

Yumnam Lemba Meitei topped the men’s physique (open) group outshining Nameirakpam Johnson Meitei (second) and Leishangthem Lawrence Singh (third), while Sumanta Naorem claimed the men’s physique (19-23 tall & above) title as Laitonjam Gulshan and Atom Jackey Singh finished second and third. In the men’s physique (19- 23 below medium), Bribasil Yanglem came out top as Tongbram Rakesh was second and Naorem Chinglen third. Laishram Modhu earned
the top podium honour in the master men’s 60-69 category, Moirangthem R Meitei won the 50-59 group’s event, and Rajkumar Naransana secured first position in the 70+ category. Ksh Manikumar was the winner of the men’s sports model (23-40) contest, with Chingakham Ronaldo getting the second place and Md Farooque Khan the third position.

Thiyam Jaya Devi took the women’s physique crown as Babyrose Wahengbam came in second and Janshi Devi Maisnam in third. Among the winners in other categories were Khundrakpam Suraj (junior men’s), Longjam Vikas Singh (junior men’s sports model), Sanjenbam Malemnganba (teenage 12-19 tall), Md Nawaz Sharif (teenage 12-19 below), Margandha (teenage physique), Sanjeev K (physically challenged), and Kh Surjit Kumar (disabled seated).

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.