NEROCA FC maul SU en route to sixth CC Meet title

IMPHAL, 10th Apr: NEROCA FC served up a goal feast as they retained their CC Meet title in style with a 7-0 demolition of Sagolband United in the final of the 61st Sir Churachand Singh Memorial Invitation Football Tournament on Wednesday.
This was NEROCA’s sixth title of the prestigious tournament, having previously lifted the gold-centred silver shield in 2000, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2016. The club had also finished runners-up thrice (2002, 2005, 2008).
In the final action, Chencho Gyeltshen and Aryn Glen Williams shared the spoils as Gyeltshen ran riot with a four-goal salvo.
Gyeltshen kick-started the rout after 12 minutes and Williams doubled the lead in a span of eight minutes before the scoring changed hands again between the NEROCA duo as Chencho Gyeltshen tripled the advantage in the 39th minute and Glen Williams wrapped up the first-half barrage with a 42nd-strike.
After the break, Chencho continued his lethal form with two successive goals after converting in the 53rd and 72nd minute, completing his haul.
Glen then scored his third just before stoppage time as NEROCA FC steamrolled their way to a record sixth CC Meet crown.
Courtesy of their triumph, NEROCA proudly got their hands on the iconic shield besides pocketing five lakhs in prize money.
Runners-up Sagolband United (SU) received Rs 2.5 lakhs with a trophy.
Singam Subhash Singh hogged the attention by bagging AMFA’s footballer of the year award and the best player of the tournament honour as NEROCA FC walked away with a major chunk of the individual titles on offer. The Club’s other prize winners were Chencho Gyeltshen (best striker of final match), Aryn Glen Williams (man of final match), Md Abdul Salam (best defender), N Tondonba Singh (best midfielder of final match), L Bishorjit Singh (best goalkeeper of 61st CC Meet), W Shyamjai Meetei (best coach) and K Kashi Singh (best manager).
Both L Sanatomba (SU) and Princewill O Emeka (TRAU FC) were top-scorers of the Meet.
TRAU’s Ng Naocha was adjudged best young player of the tournament.
Meanwhile, RAU with a total points of 733 were handed the fair play trophy.
In referee category, L Priyobarta Singh was named best referee of the Meet and Rinkahao Vashum was given the best assistant referee award.
The day also saw Ng Bala Devi, N Shivananda Singh and L Chaoba Devi receive AMFA’s best footballer (women), best coach (men’s) and best coach (women’s) of the year awards respectively.

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.