Bpr, IW claim inter dist badminton crowns

CHRONICLE BUREAU IMPHAL, 23rd July: Bishnupur were crowned senior team champions of the 36th Inter District Badminton Championship, while Imphal West clinched the junior team championship title on Sunday. Bishnupur defeated MPSC to win the senior team’s event. Although the district lost to MPSC in the men’s singlesfinal, they prevailed in the women’s  singles, men’s and women’s doubles competitions to win the title. In the women’s singles final, Priya got the better of MPSC’s Khelpati as Bishnupur’s doubles pairs of Kh Dinku  nd Kh Manjit (men’s) and Priya and Roshmi (women’s) won their respective final matches to give Bishnupur the silverware. Imphal West, meanwhile, made a clean sweep of both the boys and girls’ singles, and boys’ doubles and mixed doubles events against Bishnupur to emerge the junior team champions. For the team, M Meiraba (boys’ singles), N Angita (girls’singles), Meiraba and Bidyasagar (boys’ doubles), and Meiraba and Angita (mixed doubles) all shone in their respective finals for their junior team trophy.

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.