NPP meet resolves to quit NDA if CAB passed

SHILLONG, 9th Feb: National People’s Party (NPP) has decided to sever ties with the BJP-led NDA government if the Citizenship Amendment Bill (CAB) is passed in the Rajya Sabha.
This decision was taken at the national general body meeting of the party held here Saturday which was attended by party leaders, MLAs from the North Eastern states and other parts of the country.
The meeting also unanimously re-elected Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma as the national president of the party.
Sangma told reporters that the meeting took a unanimous decision to oppose the Citizenship Amendment Bill and the resolution been passed which will be sent to the Central government not to go ahead with the bill in the Rajya Sabha.
“At the same time, the national general body meeting also decided that if this Bill is passed in the Rajya Sabha, NPP will break its ties with the NDA,” Sangma informed.
NPP is an ally of the NDA government and formed the government together in Manipur as well as in Meghalaya.
NPP which is leading the government in Meghalaya has 20 MLAs in the State Assembly and four MLAs in Manipur. BJP is supporting the NPP-led government in Meghalaya while the NPP’s four MLAs are supporting the BJP-led government in Manipur.
The meeting also decided to contest 24 seats in North East in 2019 Lok Sabha election and the 60 seats in State Assembly election to Arunachal Pradesh, said an NPP Communication Cell press communique.
The meeting had threadbare discussion on measures to strengthen the party in all the State of the Northeast for the upcoming election as well as formation of the party unit in the State of Assam, where the State Unit will be officially launched on February 17.
The GBM was attended by party functionaries from different parts of the Northeast, including representative from the national body comprising leaders like Prestone Tynsong, Joykumar Singh Yumnam, Dr DD Lapang, James Sangma, Dr Lalrintluanga Jahau, Sashank Gataraj Sonelal Kol, Inder Bahadur Pandey, SK Sarkar, amongst others.
All the States submitted reports with regards to political scenario during the meeting.

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.