CC Meet: KPSC edge DMRAO; NISA crush YDO

IMPHAL 2nd Feb: KPSC overcame DMRAO on penalties while NISA pummeled YDO 6-0 in Saturday’s fixtures of the 61st CC Meet underway at Artificial Turf Ground, Khuman Lampak.
KPSC and DMRAO were evenly matched throughout their game leading to the penalty shootout where the former rose to a contest 4-3.
DMRAO took the first kick that was delivered by Thangjoylen Khongsai as Md Imran Khan stepped up for KPFC’s first attempt and made it 1-1.
Both teams made good on their second shots as Shunjanthan Ragui converted for DMRAO and so did S Sabi Singh for KPFC.
Then the scoreline titled in favour of DMRAO after M Priyananda Meitei’s attempt.
But KPSC held their nerves to set themselves apart from their dogged opponents after they delivered on their next two shots courtesy of S Premchand and Khulakpamarif.
The next match, however, was a contrasting one as NISA inflicted a heavy 6-0 defeat on YDO Sora.
NISA started off with an early 8th-minute opener from Th Thangamba but they abruptly lost the momentum as goals eluded them in the ensuing minutes of first half.
After the break, NISA came out strongly and their attacking prowess was on full display.
S Johny Kom ignited the five-goal second-half barrage when he found the back of the net in the 61st minute.
Then E Dayananda upped the scoring ante in the 76th minute as A Herojit made it 4-0 in the 80th minute before Dayananda netted his second for a 5-0 scoreline, and, finally, it was up to Lamjingba Mutum to complete the 6-0 rout in the 89th minute.

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.