TC gears up to contest both seats, slams Central, state BJP Govt

IMPHAL, 20th Dec: Trinamool Congress, Manipur state has declared that the party will field candidates in both Inner and Outer Manipur parliamentary constituencies for the Lok Sabha election scheduled in early 2019.
The declaration was made by Trinamool Congress state convener Dr Th Inaocha during a day-long state level political convention of the party held Thursday at Lamyanba Shanglen, Palace Compound.
According to Dr Inaocha, names of the candidates for both seats would be announced as soon as AITCC gives approval. As the party is going together with like-minded political parties at the national level, the state unit is too is preparing to work together with parties having similar ideologies, he added.
Addressing the gathering, the state convener said that defeat of BJP in five states where assembly elections were held recently is testimony of failure of the NDA government and as such the BJP-led government at the Centre would not return in the after Lok Sabha election.
While predicting formation of non-BJP government at the Centre, Dr Inaocha said that people of Manipur should be prepared for changes likely to be brought in the state with political wave from the Centre. Regardless of claims by the BJP led government in the state there is no significant changes as yet, he contended, and pointed out that LPG price has crossed the Rs 1000 mark from the earlier rate of Rs 400/450. He further accused the present state government of failing to provide fertilizer to farmers in time apart from giving untold hardship to people by GST, demonetisation policies, etc. Manipur is facing numerous complex issues since the coming of NDA government at the Centre and BJP led government in the state, he said and cited the unending issues of border pillar and Framework Agreement brought by the present government.
The political convention was also attended by NCP state president Soram Iboyaima, DBSP president Ch Premchandra, State Platform for Differently Abled Persons president MD Yunush Khan, MPTCC vice president Kh Jicken and general secretary Y Kiran.

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.