Narendra Modi Govt is second East India Company: O Joy

IMPHAL, 10th Dec: As a strategy for the upcoming Lok Sabha election which is likely to be held early next year, a grand reception function of political leaders who joined the Indian National Congress recently was held Monday at Congress Bhawan, BT Road here.
In all, 32 political leaders including veteran politician O Joy who contested from Langthabal A/C on BJP ticket in 11th State Assembly election; Dr Nameirakpam Dwijamani, who contested election on BJP ticket, former vice president of BJP Retd IAS AR Khan of Kshetrigao A/C and Retd Colonel Sapam Shantikumar of Thangmeiband A/C were accorded warm welcome by MPCC on joining the party.
Former chief minister Okram Iboibi, former deputy CM and Congress Working Committee member Gaikhangam, president of Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) TN Haokip, other committee office bearers and Congress MLAs were present at the function.
Speaking on the occasion, O Joy, while recalling that East India Company once took over the governance apart from holding up the economy of the country and suppressing the masses, observed that the current BJP-led NDA government led by Narendra Modi is functioning as a second East India Company. When asked about why he joined Congress which he always criticised from the beginning of his political career, Joy, while stating that democracy is fading away with the coming of BJP government, reasoned that he joined Congress as he felt that he should not remain aloof in the fight going on by Congress and other like-minded political parties to save democracy and to ensure the principles of secularism and socialism in the country.
Ridiculing the BJP-led coalition government in the state for claiming themselves as corruption-free government and for calling the erstwhile Congress government as '10 percent', the veteran politician claimed that the current government is more corrupted and can be termed ’30 percent’. Sometimes, the BJP-led coalition government took half of the share, he alleged. Further pointing out that the government is implementing an undeclared emergency in the country, Joy stated that there is a huge decline in value of ‘annual democracy index’ with the coming of BJP government while asserting that the freedom of press has also been compromised.
Dwelling on BJP government’s ‘Beti Bachao, Beti Padhao’, the seasoned politician said that many individuals of BJP adorned in saffron are involved in raping women and the rate of crimes against women and children is on a rise in the country.
It seems the BJP government is not acknowledging the sentiments of the people and instead it is governing like a child’s play, he observed.
Joy further expressed that the act of accepting organisations of Nagaland as legal custodians of Dzuko Valley by a minister (NPF) of the current BJP led government following a fire incident where trekkers from Manipur were arrested is one of the most unfortunate incident.
Noting that he learnt the true colours of BJP during his brief stint as member of the political party, AR Khan expressed that one-sidedness of BJP in working for a particular religion in a secular country like India is disheartening.
AR Khan stated that he resigned from the party because of its communal nature and noted that communal nature of BJP will create hatred among communities.
AR Khan, while saying that even if power hungry BJP delivers perfect speeches to the people, charged BJP of being a political party with agenda of a particular community and religion. Among others, corporator of IMC ward number 4 Laishram Arunkumar, corporator of IMC ward no. 27 Herojit Ngangom, pradhan of Oinam Thingel gram panchayat, Thongam Guneshwor of Langthabal A/C, pradhan of Maibam Leikai gram panchayat Thokchom Kunjarani, pradhan of Hiyangthang gram panchayat Golmei Roy Kabui, member of Oinam Thingel gram panchayat ward no. 6 Ningombam Chaoba, former president of Wangoi Kendra BJP Yuva Morcha Yumnam Lokeshwor, former member of Langthabal zilla parishad Sagolsem Ronel Meitei, social worker Okram Dhamendra of Kyamgei Maning Leikai, former president of BJP Hiyanglam Mandal Chandam Iboyaima, candidate of Hiyanglam A/C Ninghtoujam Rajendro, former general secretary of BJP Yuva Morcha of Lamlai BJP Mandal Ngairangbam Sovashchandra and member of Thoubal district zilla parishad Soibam Kullabidhu were also accorded warm welcome during the function.

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.