Film policy awaiting cabinet nod: Jayantakr

IMPHAL, 29th Nov: Winners of different categories of the 11th Manipur State Film Awards 2018 hosted by Manipur State Film Development Society (MSFDS) have been declared on Thursday.
MSFDS chairman and art & culture minister L Jayantakumar declared the result at his secretariat office in the presence of MSFDS secretary Dr Hamom Naba and chairman & jury members of the annual award committee. The award will be distributed on December 9.
Poknapham columnist Yambem Tombi will be presented the best film critic award. She had won the award in 2013 also. Besides, she was honoured with best film journalist award in 2012 by Film Forum Manipur.
Announcing the result, minister Jayantakumar deplored that the number of entries for the award was low this year and stressed the need for short term policies over and above the long term policy for development of film industry in the state. He then urged those involved in movie making to strive for better production which can enter not only in national but also in international market. Acknowledging the requirement of funding in producing quality films, he said that the government is in process to provide financial assistance to filmmakers.
At present, the government is planning to provide assistance to filmmakers from Tongou village in Ukhrul district. Such moves will encourage filmmakers to produce more films with good quality, he said. The minister further said that formulation of Manipur State Film Policy has almost been completed. Once the draft policy is approved by the state cabinet, the same will be published in the state gazette, he said. He also called upon all concerned for a collective effort in improving quality of films and film industry in the state.
According to Dr Hamom Naba the committee received only eight entries in the feature film category; two in non-feature and three entries in best book & critics. The main reason behind the limited entries despite producing 80 to 90 films every year is the lack of certificate of Central Board of Film Certification since CBFC certificate is mandatory for the award. He also expressed concern over the trend of ignoring CBFC certificate in the state.
Kangabam Tomba popularly known as Lamja Tomba will be conferred Lifetime Achievement Award, which carries Rs 1 lakh in cash. Winners in feature film category are best film (Enakta Leiringei); best film of a debut director (Keishal Jaildugi Phadokshing); best director (Manoranjan Longjam for Enakta Leiringei); best art direction (Arambam Tondang Luwang for Keishal Jaildugi Phadokshing); best screenplay (Anil for Enakta Leiringei); best actor (RK Kaiku for Enakta Leiringei); best actress (Soma Laishram for Enakta Leiringei); best supporting actor (Ch Rameshchandra alias Edhou for Tomthin Shija); best supporting actress (H Bala for Chinglen Sana); best cinematography (Regan Kh for Enakta Leiringei); best audiography (K Somorendro for Mandalay Mathel); best editing (Premananda Nongthonbam for Enakta Leiringei);
Winners in other categories are best special effect (Biju Kshetri for Tomthin Shija); best make-up (A Ragini & W Chandrima for Keishal Jaildugi Phadokshing); best costume (CHAMS for Mamlasanu Taibangpal); best music (Oken Amakcham for Mamlasanu Taibangpal); best lyrics (Laipa Luwang for Mamlasanu Taibangpal); Best male singer (Arvind for Mamlasanu Taibangpal); best female singer (Pushparani Huidrom for Mamlasanu Taibangpal); special jury award (Leishangthem Tonthoinganbi for Iche Tampha & G Kripaluxmi for Chinglen Sana).
In the non-feature section, ‘Theatre of the Earth’ produced by Films Division Mumbai under the direction of Oinam Doren won the best non-feature film. Eesingi Machu won best film on social issues while other winners in other categories are best cinematography (L Radhamohon for Eesingi Machu); best editing (Subhadipta Biswas for Theatre of the Earth); best music (Tomba Heisnam for Theatre of the Earth); and special jury award (Sunil Loitongbam for Theatre of the Earth).

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.