Imphal West strikes it rich on Day 5

IMPHAL30th May: Imphal West made the most of the Day 5’s bouts at the State Boxing Championship with 11 gold medals as Bishnupur and Thoubal were second and third in Tuesday’s gold medal collection. The Imphal West boxers who outpunched their final opponents for the yellow metal in the sub-junior men and women’s competition were Sh Bijeta Chanu, L Edison Singh, H Ambeshwori Devi, Tingneilhing Chongloi, Sanathoi Hemam, Th Alena Devi, N Menaka Devi, L Rabichanda, M Sanathoi Meitei, H Bhimjit Singh, and Kh Nongdamkhomba.

Sh Bijeta Chanu was the first to claim Imphal West’s gold medal in the day’s competition following her triumph over Kangpokpi’s Th Kunajarani Devi in their women’s 48-50kg (B-11) title bout. L Edison Singh ramped up their gold medal rush after beating M Mekash (Kakching) in the final of the men’s 50-52kg (B-12) category as H Ambeshwori Devi won the third gold medal with her win over Memsana Chanu (Imphal East) in the women’s 50-52kg (B-120) group.

Then came Tingneilhing Chongloi who got the better of L Sushmita Chanu (Imphal East) for the women’s 52-54kg (B-13) gold medal. In other sub-junior men and women’s finals, Sanathoi Hemam defeated Paotamla Mahung (Ukhrul), Th Alena Devi downed N Surjalata (Thoubal), N Menaka Devi outboxed Elangbam Anupama (Kakching), L Rabichanda beat M Keisham (Kangpokpi), M Sanathoi Meitei got the better of Arjun Sharma (Bishnupur), H Bhimjit Singh prevailed over N Manao (Bishnupur), and Kh Nongdamkhomba outpunched Kh Manimatum Meitei (Bishnupur) to complete Imphal West’s gold medal haul.

Bishnupur, meanwhile, earned six gold medals courtesy of Bidya Maisnam, Kh Malemnganba, S Binita Chanu, N Manao Singh, Md Tajuddin, and L Donoi Meitei. Thoubal rounded off with five gold medals won by L Julet Singh, N Babyrojisana Chanu, Md Najimuddin, P Mukundash Singh, and Tayenjam Lanchenba. Imphal East, on the other hand, bagged four gold medals through Malini Das, N Bobosana Singh, Kh Rajesh Singh, and Kh Manihar Singh.

For Ukhrul, Sovi Jajo and Rs Thotyla both put in an impressive show in their respective title fights to give their district a gold medal apiece, while Ng Langamba and P Jackson Singh boxed their way to claim a gold each for Tengnoupal. Churachandpur, Kakching and Senapati all had to contend with a gold each as Kh Sanayaima Singh won it for Churachandpur, Th Sagar Meitei for Kakching and Alex Newmai for Senapati.

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.