BCCI announces Indian team for Champions Trophy

NEW DELHI, 8th May: No surprises in the Indian squad for the upcoming Champions Trophy with the selectors deciding to back the experienced Ajinkya Rahane over youngster Rishabh Pant. That was expected to be the only fight as the others picked themselves. Choosing between a third spinner and an extra batsman was expected to be the major topic of discussion as the other members were automatic selection. The fight was on whether the selectors would go for an extra batsman in Rahane or Pant or go for a third spinner behind Ashwin and Jadeja.

              The Indian team for the Champions Trophy goes: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah. With KL Rahul out of contention, recovering post surgery, there was no debate that Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan will be the two openers picked. They were there even in 2013 and will have an integral role to play at the top.

© 2016 - 2019 The People's Chronicle. All rights reserved.